Re: What would you do?

[Follow Ups] [Post Followup] [Paged Messages] [Request Removal]

Posted by Vince Kilborn on March 20, 2006 at 06:27:46:

In Reply to: What would you do? posted by athena lopez on March 19, 2006 at 23:30:56:

Athena,

I feel for you in this tough situation. Of course, i'm not a doctor, and don't even play one on tv, but it looks like you are looking for perhaps an objective opinion. I'm also registered for the ATR. I have never run the ATR 10K, and only ran the two mile as a teenager many years ago, so of course this means a lot to me as well. I just running last August, and b/r that I was "Gallowalking" for a couple of months. Perhaps resting w/o any running during the meantime is one way to get to the starting line. You lose virtually no fitness for 5 days or so, and I believe Roger Bannister rested completely 4 or 5 days before sub-4'ing the mile. The other option is to take walk breaks during the early part of the race and see how you feel. I am a large runner, 6'3" and north of 200lbs, so I really listen to my body, particularly knees and achilles. Ran the First Light w/ very little training, but I knew I was going to have to take walk breaks going in. It worked. I felt fine and ran the Panther Pride a week later. Ran the 15k Double Bridge after that. I have never sustained a debilitating injury, likely b/c I only run 3 days per week (4 at most) to avoid injury. Sound like a PR is not an issue, so at most I would limit myself to a slow jog or walk/run approach. If it were me, I am nearly certain I would not run at all as I don't like to enter a race I do not feel ready for. Yes, I know the ATR is special. At 40, though, I'm not too proud to say I'm hurt and need to rest. I would hate to see the condition get any worse or lead to a further setback, particularly since this has happened b/r. Also, I would not really base a decision on the fact that you do not plan to train after the ATR b/c that doesn't take into account the further injury y